Leica M11, First Two Impressions

A More Dynamic Range

Josh Rose
10 min readMay 3, 2022

--

BTS still. Photo by Josh S. Rose, 2022. Leica M11, 50m Summilux.

The main thing I like in a photograph is dynamic range. For this reason, I put myself on the wait list for the new Leica M11 and was at the store the day they called me to tell me it was in. It’s pricey, and I had to trade in a good amount of gear to even get close to being able to afford it. Even as a Leica Akademie instructor, I got no breaks.

I don’t often get a new camera anymore. I used to chase gear quite a bit, but that was born out of all the compromises that surrounded digital photography. Always trying to outgun the systemic issues of low resolution, cropped sensors, speed and user experience. My reference is film, as that is where my journey began, so as soon as I had a few cameras with dynamic range as good as a 35mm film stock, I felt I had reached the zenith of digital cameras, and I stopped chasing. Those cameras were the Nikon D850 and the Leica M — I’ve had the Typ 240, M10 and M10P. All superb. All only just shy of that “film look.”

Everyone knows why one would want the D850. It’s for images like these:

Swim meet. Photo by Josh S. Rose, 2022. Nikon D850 with 70–200m and 2x magnifier.

Even if you don’t shoot sports, it’s the idea that it performs well for that genre that…

--

--

Josh Rose

Filmmaker, photographer, artist and writer. Writing about creator life and observations on culture. Tips very very much appreciated: https://ko-fi.com/joshsrose